Located in the north-east neuk of Scotland, Sandend Caravan Park is situated close to a long sandy beach which is ideal for families and watersport enthusiasts. The park is the ideal base to discover the many interesting features of the area including the world famous Castle and Coastal Trails.
The original seat of the Ogilvies of Boyne, the remnants of the 15th century castle still stand within walking distance from the village, of course for the less energetic, there is a car park nearby. King James II granted the license for the building of the castle to the wealthy Ogilvie family in 1455-56. The castle remained with the family for the next hundred years until it was passed, due to a family feud to Sir John Gordon third son of the Earl of Huntly. The Ogilvies did their utmost to regain possession but to no avail until the castle was held against defeated by Mary Queen of Scots in 1562. Huntly was duly executed and the building handed back to the Ogilvies, where mid seventeenth century, when they moved to more comfortable and accessible Cullen.
Sunnyside bay is situated a short walk from Findlater Castle. This marvellous un-spoilt beach is tiny and renowned for it’s views of wildlife. There is a cave at the far west side called “Hermits Cave” which is where a Frenchman “Charlie” lived before World War II Further up the hillside there is a well with the inscription “Rest Drink and Think 1895”
The Harbour was built in the village at the end of the last century, paid for with money from the local fishermen. The harbour may be the smallest in Britain but at one time at least 16 boats worked out of Sandend, in the summer going to Stronsay and Lerwick and in the winter staying in the Moray Firth..
Last year the harbour was taken over by “Sandend Harbour Trust” as a charity.
The village has some lovely 19th century houses which homed the fishermen and crofters. The beach is backed by shallow dunes and sprawling fields with walks to suit everyone You are still able to purchase fresh fish in the village,
Due to the quality of Scottish water a favourite nation pastime, whisky drinking and distilling has always been especial popular in the North East. The Glenglassaugh Distillery was built on the site of former water mills on the Glassaugh Burn in 1875 The whisky production ceased in 1907, but the buildings were still in use as a maltings until 1959 when a new distillery was built, capable of producing around 400.000 gallons per year. Unfortunately it again ceased production in 1982 until 2009 when the distillery was sold and has once again started production. (Tours are available to see around the distillery)
The "Cup and Saucer"
The Glassaugh Windmill locally known as the cup and saucer was built in the grounds of Glassaugh Distillery. Built on the site of a pre-historic Pictish chambered cairn, the wind mill was built by Gereral James Abercrombie in the mid part of the 18th century.
This is a small inland village south of Sandend. Cottages have been restored and are surrounded by quaint old fashioned gardens. The village boasts it’s own pink castle and ancient kirk, which dates back to the 13th Century. There is also a joiners workshop with a resident woodworker, with displays of old fashioned tools and machinery